Wednesday, April 24, 2024
- Advertisment -
HomeMyanmarEthnic IssuesThe 14 elected parliamentary members from Mon State sign a statement of...

The 14 elected parliamentary members from Mon State sign a statement of pledge rejecting NUG/CRPH

Yangon (Chindwin): A total of 14 elected members of parliament (MPs) from the Mon States have reportedly signed a statement of pledge, promising to neither associate with the National Unity Government (NUG) and Committee Representing Pyidaungsu Hluttaw (CRPH) nor involve in future politics on Myanmar, according to the Federal Journal. 

Three members of the National League for Democracy (NLD) and eleven members of the Mon Unity Party (MUP) are among those 14 MPs who signed the statement. Out of the 11 members of MUP, two MPs have already accepted positions in State Administrative Council (SAC). 

“I signed the statement of pledge because I was pressured to sign by the military council,” said Naing Mon Yazar, a member of the MUP. 

Dr. Banya Aung Moe and Naing Liwa Tama from the MUP have already been serving as ministers under the military council. 

“During the election, they all campaigned that they are with the people, but now they follow the military. They are not honest to the people,” the students’ leader of Mawlamyine university said. 

There are a total of 45 parliamentarians, including 34 from NLD and 11 from MUP, elected in the last November 2020 election in Mon State. Many of them have collaborated with the military council. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular